Botanical Wingback

image

Another chair for Mama’s Happy.  This one is for the Grand Ave. location in St. Paul.  I found the chair on Craigslist and it had a lot going for it, in that it was solid, had great lines, and didn’t smell.  The bad part about some of these older chairs is that they were made to last and that means the demo takes lots of time and muscle.  I think you could have  drove a semi truck on this fabric and it would have held up and it was put on with upholstery nails that are harder to pop out than staples.  It may have taken me more time than I hoped to get the chair stripped down, but I think it was worth it to give new life to this one.

image

I decided to go with darker paint and fabric for this chair.  The paint is Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in French Linen.  Every time I do a chair I am still surprise how finding the right trim really puts the cherry on top.  So often chairs are just finished off with piping, but I love how using decorative trim adds such interesting detail.  I am a little sad to see this not stay in our home after I saw how it fit in our living room; however, I hope that it looks just as great in someone else’s home.

image
Before
image
After
2 thoughts on “Botanical Wingback

  1. Becky,

    You’ve done it again! It’s beautiful and I love the French Linen paint and the fabric. You are so good when it comes to selecting fabrics and paint colors!!!

    Your work inspires me and seeing your post is a huge day brightener. Thank you!

    Love,

    Cindy

    Like

Leave a Reply

