Vintage Cane Arm Chair Redo

IMG_1509

This summer I got it in my head that I wanted to teach myself how to reupholster furniture.  I love to create and have always looked at things in stores and thought, “I wonder if I can do that.” Therefore it isn’t all together surprising that this wondering has led me to home furnishings.    Teaching myself something new, developing a method that feels my own, and using the creative part of my brain bring me energy and joy.

I started by reupholstering a wingback chair for our living room and realized that the process of stripping a chair down to nothing, studying how it is constructed, dreaming of what the chair could become and executing it is so much fun.  After completing the wingback I kept my eye out on craigslist for other potential chairs to flip.  I have been acquiring a few and loving the vision that I am getting for them.  I found this vintage cane arm chair on craigslist and knew that it had potential.

IMG_1469

The fabric was dated and thin and the wood and caning had lost its luster, but all in all the chair was solid, sturdy, and had great lines.  Undressing it revealed a new find for me, a horsehair cushion.  This gave me the idea that the chair dates back at least the 60s when they stopped using horsehair in furniture cushions.

The chair got a couple coats of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in Old White and a couple coats of wax and already looked so much fresher and airy.  I had some left over Robert Allen Neo Toile fabric  left from my wingback chairs that I thought would look beautiful next to the paint.

At first I thought I would put double welt piping on but this chair needed a little more class so I glued on some gold trim to add a nice touch of elegance.

I think this chair is so beautiful and has such an elegant touch of chinoserie.  I hope to find a great home for it, as much as I would love to keep it I can only have so much of this fabric in our home.

Doing a little twirl…..

 IMG_1513 IMG_1510

IMG_1514 IMG_1511

One more before and after shot, so much better!

IMG_1469 IMG_1509

One thought on “Vintage Cane Arm Chair Redo

  1. Becky, I have to go back and read more of your blog when I have more time. As you know, I love your work and am inspired by what you do not only in upholstery, but as a mother. After the holidays, I’d love to have you upholster a loveseat for me. I can do the Annie Sloan paint part, if you do the upholstery. Thank you so much for sharing your inspiring projects!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

